Recipes

Clam Cakes Take the Cake

When I first started living in Newport, it occurred to me that I would be eating a lot of seafood seeing as I can see the ocean from my house. I had no complaints with this and I was very eager to start seeing what all the fuss was about. You always hear people talk about “New England Chowder” and I’ve had it in restaurants not located in New England, and it was always pretty good. That opinion changes from pretty good to delightful once I ordered it from a restaurant in Rhode Island. At the Newport Seafood Festival, I saw this warm comfort food paired with something I’ve never had before: clam cakes.

No, not crab cakes. CLAM cakes. Fried bundles of deliciousness blasting with flavor from the first bite to the last. Just from looking at the golden shell of the cakes, they look like they should be dusted in powdered sugar and enjoyed for dessert. However, there is nothing sweet about them. The savory punch of all the flavors makes a clam cake the perfect vehicle for dipping into a warm cup of clam chowder. I have yet to find this food item on menus outside of New England, so this recipe has helped me bring the Newport spirit home to New Jersey for my friends and family to enjoy.

Below is the link to the original page with the recipe:

Clam CakesScreenshot (7)

Leave a comment